Day 155 A Home Day

It seems like forever since we’ve had a mini-weekend break, probably three or four weeks.  Work has gradually been getting more exhausting; steep learning curves plus some emotionally draining cases (not all obstetric scans end up with smiling parents and no anatomic abnormality demonstrated).  Sometimes I wonder what some people think when they go for a screening mammogram or a 19-week anatomy scan?  If it were me, I’d be thinking, “I’m going to have a screening test.  It might detect an abnormality that might be cancer or a structural anomaly.  I hope the test has good sensitivity.  It could miss an abnormality.  I hope there is good specificity too. I hope that my result is a true negative.”  Too often I think people have screening tests thinking that it’s like putting suncream on before exposing your skin to solar radiation or putting a scarf and gloves on before going out in the cold: a preventative or protective measure.  Annual screening mammography doesn’t stop cancers from growing.  It just increases the chance we might notice it before it becomes palpable.  

This morning we slept in.  It was wonderful.  I tried to convince Daniel to get up by pretending to be a sting ray and swimming across the bed, which resulted in more giggling and less getting up.  We’ve had a productive morning: groceries at St. Lawrence Markets, I’ve finally tidied the dead plants from the balcony, a whole host of sweeping, dishes and laundry, and now Daniel is making something that smells nice in the Thermoix.

Things of note: not only were tomatoes at the markets pluralised with a grocer’s apostrophe, “tomato’s” but they were purportedly “HydroPhonic”.  I bit my tongue and didn’t enquire as to which music they were grown listening to.  I just bought tomatoes from somewhere else instead.  Also, the vegetables in season have changed dramatically.  There are now piles of kale taller than people.  Tubers are still in abundance.  All the peas and beans and a lot of fruit is gone.  We bought chicken and fillet mignon from the butchers in the South building.  Daniel resisted the temptation to buy a whole box of quinces, since we don’t actually eat the quince paste he was keen on cooking.

It’s relatively warm today – probably about ten degrees Celsius.  We didn’t have to wear gloves or a beanie.  The sun is shining and there were a lot of captivating building reflections in windows of neighbouring buildings.  I got distracted yesterday peering our our apartment window, from the bathroom, counting the lines and angles and shapes made by the Rogers building across the road and the houses behind it.  All the leaves that have over the last month gone from orange and yellow to brown, now suddenly look dead.  The leaves have gone.

Since we aren’t used to walking on ice I’ve got to keep in mind over the next few months not to lean forward or else I’ll end up like this pink starfish.

 

Oh wow!  My phone just rang and a recorded message said, “Congratulations!  You have been selected to win a FREE CRUISE TO THE BAHAMAS!” I tried talking to the recorded female voice but she just kept talking.  

One thought on “Day 155 A Home Day

Add yours

  1. ” . . . not only were tomatoes at the markets pluralised with a grocer’s apostrophe, “tomato’s” but they were purportedly “HydroPhonic”. I bit my tongue and didn’t enquire as to which music they were grown listening to. . . .” Clearly the music must have been Handel’s Water Music, the Lycopersican movement . . . That one was dead easy!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

