Day 236 Snowfall

Sometimes people can tell quickly that I’m not from around here.  Usually it’s when I open my mouth.  Today I had a patient recognise I was from Australia (finally!) from my accent.  Today I was also the only person jumping up and down with excitement in the lift at the amount of snowfall that happened over night and continued to fall all day. Everybody else just complained. The roads and footpaths are carpeted with snow.  It’s like the city has morphed into a frosty dessert.  Nobody else is excited by it.  People abandon cars and catch the subway home because it’s just a terrible inconvenience.  I took photos.

This morning Dan got up at six and went skiing.  Mid-week.  Bastard.  I went to the gym, then to my job.  It was a fun day though.  At lunch I continued to work my way up the eateries on Baldwin St, behind the hospital.  Next door to the Japanese place on the corner I had dim sum for one.  The sticky rice had too many dried shrimp for my liking.  I was super excited to finally find sponge cake in Toronto but it was dry.  I looked sufficiently Chinese though for the old lady working there to speak to me in Cantonese.  I had no idea what she said.

This afternoon I was rostered to present the weekly multidisciplinary rounds. I usually find these fun, especially when the group is small and friendly and the meeting is run quickly.  The computer monitor was small though which made calcifications on mammograms were hell to see, so on the first case where I was trying to zoom and re-window the image I couldn’t see the indeterminate calcifications that I was meant to show.  As I had prepared my meeting notes on Monday I had completely forgot the case, which turned out to be not be helpful.  I zoomed up on the only calcs I could see on the screen, which looked pretty benign, but hey, somebody called calcs for biopsy and there was a biopsy so I kept talking.  My Fellowship Supervisor thankfully had also prepared for the meeting and her pages of notes written yesterday (hers were hand-written; mine were typed) alerted her to the posterior location of the calcs of interest.  She reached over and panned the image to the tiny barely visible calcs, which looked much less benign.  At the same time one of the clever surgeons piped up, “Can you please explain to the Medical Student why these calcifications are indeterminate?”  I was quick to reply, “Because they are the wrong ones!”  The whole room laughed.  It got better after that.

Tonight we resurrected the weekly Abdo Fellow dinner – on a Wednesday instead of post rounds.  We ate dinner at Nando’s – yes the fast food chicken place that is all over Australia like a rash and you wouldn’t dream of going to dine in for dinner.  In downtown Toronto they’ve done it up all fancy like and it was actually a pleasant experience.  Dan joined us when the bus from the mountain returned downtown.  Everybody had mid-week busy days at work and took joy in hearing about Daniel’s leisurely day skiing down fresh powder snow.  I poked him in the thighs to find out where his legs hurt.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

