Day 307 Planning the Next Trip

Day 305
Day 305

It was a four-day work week but it felt like forever.  Work has been a grind and I’ve not got to the gym before work the past two days as I slept in; our routine from the past two months was disrupted by a sooky jet-lag that we both can’t shake.  How will we manage overseas travel!?

We caught up with Tim and Vaughan last night for dinner and tried Persian food, West along College St at the corner of Bathurst at Sheherzade.  It was mostly rice/flat bread with meat spiced with garlic, fresh lemon juice or saffron or rose flavours.  Tim and I tried a combination chicken and beef grilled meat thing (Kabob Bakhtiari).  Vaughan had a detailed multiple component dish involving a hearty broth and a bowl of meat he had to macerate with a metal implement (Dizi or ‘Abgoosht’).  Dan had chicken.  We had dessert too.  It was a good evening.  I’m going to miss them when this year’s fellowship ends and Vaughan locums in New Foundland before they return home to Melbourne.

Dan waiting for his vaccination.
Dan waiting for his vaccination.

Dan booked us into a Travel Vaccine Clinic after work today – they open late a few nights a week.  I didn’t realise it wasn’t close to the hospitals and agreed to a 17:30 appointment.  I had to bolt out of MRI reporting at 17:00, leaving the other fellow to cover the last monitored Gad cases, to race down the street and catch a streetcar East along Queen, over the DVP to the clinic.  It was an exciting adventure.

Dan had read a travel guide for the Galapagos Islands – we’re booked to leave in three weeks.  It had advised to have documented Yellow Fever vaccination, so Dan booked us into a clinic.  I had come to Canada prepared; I brought my lifetime’s records of vaccinations.  I filled out the four-page health questionnaire quickly as I was late, thankfully Dan had completed my demographics for me.  The clinic runs efficiently; a Doctor’s Assistant does the initial consult and gives travel vaccination advice, education and negotiates what the client wants to purchase (they aren’t cheap).  He even advised us of new Gardasil vaccination advice: not only is it being offered to male adolescents but adults up to age 45 too.

I was impressed by the assistant; he knew his stuff, had good rapport and smiled when I had to look away for my vaccines (I imagine 9-gauge vacuum assisted core biopsy devices and exsanguinating on table)  and gave me a lollipop.  I wasn’t impressed by the doctor, who didn’t make eye contact or shake my hand at introduction, sat hidden behind a computer monitor on the other side of a desk (it was farcical), read our histories off our questionnaires without making eye contact with us, and didn’t even say, “Thank you,” or, “Good bye”.

Got a lollipop after our vaccinations.
Got a lollipop after our vaccinations.
Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

