Day 634 Qu’est-ce qu’on a fait au Bon Dieu

It was above zero today.  The snow outside started to melt over the weekend and now the pavement is strewn with patchy ice, dog shit and cigarette butts.  I almost left work on time; the usual 16:30 rush of cases from ED to get in before 5pm kept us back.  Despite being utterly tired from the very small change of the clocks going forward an hour sometime between Sat and Sun (I really didn’t want to get out of bed this morning) I decided, as I walked home from the subway, that we should go out tonight.  Dan was cooking a delicious curry (usually I liked it) and has a work Skype meeting at 21:00 but we had time to scuttle across to the cinema on Bloor St and watch a delightfully ridiculous French comedy, Qu’est-ce qu’on a fait au Bon Dieu.  It made us feel less miserable about the daily ridiculous things reported in the Australian media about our current Prime Minister, or that ad that was aired on Chanels 7 & 9 on Mardi Gras night campaigning against same-sex marriage because of The Children.  I felt homesick last night when I called the Mastercard helpline and heard an Aussie accent but I hope I have the energy to live with Australia’s non-welcoming environment.  Reading the Australian Marriage Forum’s website made my heart sink and was instantly not homesick, but then I realised, “Oh, this is all irrelevant because we already were married, last year, on our ten-year anniversary, in Canada!”  Command-W: Australia lost, Canada won.  We’re already married so deal with it.

 

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

